From The Bookshelf – Review – Porcelain

My Thoughts

Porcelain is an autobiography by Moby. It takes us on a journey through Moby’s life all the way up to the release of his breakout album, Play. I listened to the audiobook which I had borrowed from the library. Before listening I knew little about Moby. I was one of the millions who bought a copy of Play. Also, I saw him supporting U2 in Slane Castle where at one point he sang My Lovely Horse with Father Dougal (Ardal O Hanlon) from the show Father Ted (I don’t remember much more of the set). Anyway… on we go


One thing becomes blindingly obvious when listening to this audiobook. Moby has had his fair share of ups and downs. I guess that’s what made him interesting enough for a book deal. Towards the end of the book we are told that he had considered using a ghost writer for his autobiography, and I think we can only be thankful that he didn’t. What comes across is a true bearing of the soul. It feels like no stone is left unturned, and while we obviously don’t hear about everything, he tells the stories that cast him in a bad light, as well as good in great detail.

Given what comes across as a placid persona, I was extremely surprised by the frequency and strength of the cursing in this book. I lost count of the “fucks” very early on, but I don’t think they were placed here for shock value. They are only ever used in the context of the story, (I’m hardly one to talk about cursing….. but this book isn’t about me is it 😉 )

Honestly, it took me a while to decide to borrow this from the library. I thought this was going to be super boring but it is the complete opposite. However, if I was to pick out a downside it would be that for some sections of this book the narration was selling it. The stories themselves felt as if it would be less interesting on the page. If you can’t get the audiobook I would recommend at least listening to a couple of interviews so you can get Moby’s voice in your head while reading.

But overall, I thought this was brilliant. I now LOVE Moby and am plodding my way through his back catalogue whenever I can. Now I’m off for a cup of tea.

Highly recommended (on audiobook at least)

moby_gif3.gif

 

6 Comments

    1. I got it from the library anyway. Also, there is apparently no video evidence of it happening. I couldn’t find any mention of it aside from an interview with Ardal from some show on Dave

      Like

Comments are closed.